h1

Debra Cowan’s Paranormal Romance Debut

October 6, 2008

Debra Cowan has written romantic suspense and historical romance — and now she’s taken the plunge into paranormal! Read about her new novella “Seeing Red” in the Aftershock anthology from Silhouette Nocturne and her free online read at eHarlequin.com!

by author Debra Cowan

Hi, everyone! I’m Deb Cowan and I’m excited to be guest blogging on Harlequin’s Paranormal Romance Blog. My October release, “Seeing Red” in the anthology titled Aftershock, marks my debut in paranormal romance. Typically, I write contemporary romantic suspense and historical romance so I was excited to try a different romance sub-genre. I really enjoyed it!

“Seeing Red” was a blast to write. In part, because this project was one I worked on with two longtime friends, Sharon Sala and Janis Reams Hudson. The three stories stand alone with the connecting thread being that all the heroines have recently cheated death. As a result of their experiences, they now possess a paranormal gift and must learn not only how to use it, but accept it.

My heroine, Cass Hollister, is a firefighter who dies on the table after fighting a blaze and is resuscitated. Not only does she survive, but she suffers no ill effects after more than ten minutes without a pulse and with no oxygen to her brain. As mind-blowing as that is, it’s nothing compared to learning she came back to life with an eerie special talent: an ability to see fires before they happen.

Fires that could be the work of the vengeful ex-con brother she sent to prison for arson. Fires she must report to Ben Wyrick, the sexy fire investigator she walked away from eight months ago because she was too afraid to trust her feelings.

Now she has to convince Ben to trust her about something she has a hard time believing herself.

I enjoyed writing the paranormal novella so much that I’m doing another one. 🙂 Pop over to eHarlequin.com if you’d like to check out my weekly online read about Ben’s brother. The Ledoux Curse runs Sept 22 – Nov 16.

Happy Reading,
Deb Cowan

Read an excerpt of “Seeing Red” at Deb’s website: www.debracowan.net

3 comments

  1. The novella sounds fantastic and wonderfully original. And what a gorgeous cover! Congratulations on the release. I’ll definitely be getting this one 🙂


  2. This was an awesome collection! I really enjoyed each of the stories and how they threaded together with a similar theme. Very suspenseful and fun. I hope there’s another offering like this soon!


  3. Thanks, y’all! Meljean – I hope you enjoy the stories if you pick up a copy of the book. As for the cover, I agree! Gorgeous! The colors, the woman, all of it. The three of us were totally pumped when we saw it. 🙂

    Rae, I’m soooo glad you enjoyed the stories. Sharon and Janis will be thrilled to hear it. 🙂 I appreciate you expressing interest in another offering like this. I will certainly pass that along to the editor and publisher.

    Thanks for taking the time to drop me a note, y’all.



Comments are closed.

