h1

Win Vampire Books from Crystal Green!

October 3, 2008

Crystal Green has written about sultry vampires for years. Now she’s combining her love of the paranormal with the red-hot romance of Harlequin Blaze! Crystal tells us about her latest book, Good to the Last Bite, and offers a chance to win some free books!

by Crystal Green, author of Good to the Last Bite

Hi! Like Kelly St. John before me, I was invited to pop in here to blog about my newest paranormal—which just happens to be a Harlequin Blaze. GOOD TO THE LAST BITE is a tale about a vampire bent on seeking revenge against the woman (a vampire, too) who stole his humanity and turned him. And the only way he can reclaim that humanity is to destroy her.

Of course, things go wrong for our hero, Edward Marburn. Instead of capturing Gisele, the object of his vengeance, Gisele captures him. However, she’s intent upon taming her wayward progeny, and a battle of wills—and wild, sensual nights—ensues.

Even though Blaze might be the last place you’d look for a vampire love story, I think that a hot relationship and creatures of the night go hand in hand. After all, one of the movies I find to be the sexiest and most romantic of all is BRAM STOKER’S DRACULA. Seriously—how can you beat forbidden love coupled with sultry foreplay that leads to a passionate consummation (which just so happens to be a bite)?

Last year, I wrote a different vampire Blaze that explored this question. The book was called THE UTLIMATE BITE, and it’s a companion piece to GOOD TO THE LAST BITE. In fact, Edward Marburn drives the plot of that book, and the rest of his story is fleshed out in this new installment. When I turned in the manuscript, my editor, Brenda Chin, left a note asking, “So do we get to read Edward’s story next?”

Yup, and I have to tell you that I had a lot of fun pitting Edward and Gisele against one another. There’s a lot you can do with a captive, brooding hero and the vampiress who yearns to change his plans from destruction to acceptance. Also, creating vampire Blazes has been a nice change of pace for me, because I additionally write urban fantasies where the vamps lean more toward horror than romance (although there’s a bit of lurve in those other books, too). My vamp-writing career actually got started with Silhouette, when I wrote a vampire hunter story for the now-defunct Bombshell line. THE HUNTRESS featured a heroine whose boyfriend was taken by a tribe of feral vampires in Transylvania, and I was so enthralled with being able to write this type of tale that I kept doing it. I’m just happy that Blaze has allowed me to continue these stories in yet another line!

Thanks so much for reading, and in appreciation, I’ll be giving away copies of THE ULTIMATE BITE and THE HUNTRESS to someone who leaves a comment before Monday, whether it’s about Blaze paranormals, paranormals in general, or even what kind of vampire you find to be the sexiest!

I look forward to hearing from you. : )

p.s. from Amy: Use the widget above to read an excerpt from Good to the Last Bite! And remember that even if you don’t win, all three books (Good to the Last Bite, The Ultimate Bite, and yes, even The Huntress) are always available at the eHarlequin eBook Store.

20 comments

  1. I’ve read The Ultimate Bite but I haven’t read The Huntress. I’m looking forward to reading Good to the Last Bite because Crystal is a very good author and I’ve loved reading her books, especially her paranormal blaze.


  2. Well, I’d say Dracula, but that feels odd considering my (supposed) connection to him. Long story short, family thinks they can prove we’re related to him.

    But personally? I like Michele Hauf’s vampires alot. Their alphaish but their not gonna drag their knuckles and beat the woman over the head to get her. Their gonna listen to her, and talk to her, and be nice to her to get her.

    That’s my favorite. And this is coming from a guy 😉


  3. Hey, Phoebe, and thanks so much! THE HUNTRESS is more urban fantasy in tone–good luck to you in winning!


  4. I’ve got to admit I’m hooked on vampire stories. There’s just something so intriguing about the whole after-dark action story.

    Love the cover for Good to the Last Bite! Invites opening and diving in! Congrats on the release. 🙂


  5. OOoh, I luurrve vampire romances with bite.
    I didn’t know Blaze was venturing to such interesting areas.
    I’m happy to pop in here ::waves:: and ask that I be entered into the contest.
    I enjoy reading paranormal romances.
    Oh, just so you know, I saw the Harelquin post on facebook and that is how I ended up here.
    I figure it’s always good to know if e-marketing works. Right?
    🙂


  6. Hello, there, Sarita! I’ve been really lucky with my covers. 🙂

    Have a great weekend, you all!


  7. Hi Crystal! I love reading vampire stories! Congratulations on your latest release. Good to the Last Bite sounds awesome! Love the cover!


  8. I have only read one paranormal Blaze, but this sounds great. And I love that I can get them as ebooks!


  9. Hi Crystal! I absolutely LOVE vampires, and will never get sick of them, that’s for sure. And I really enjoy the way you portray them, so I can’t wait to read this one. 😀

    Have a great weekend!


  10. Sweet nibbles and dark kisses to you, Crystal. With the approaching of Halloween, my thoughts have turned to being ravaged by a dark, passionate, sexy vampire. I have this image of the late, great Mark Frankel, of ‘Kindred:the Embraced’ fame. His dark and brooding manner, with a sensitive, steamy underside, just sends me over the edge every time I see reruns of that fantastic show. I’m always game for a fantabulously steamy vampire story, so keep ’em comin’, love! Be well.


  11. I love vampire novels because I think there might actually be vampires and werewolves and other paranormal creatures out there but we don’t know it. It has always fascinated me because each author I’ve read who write about vampires have their own interpretation of what they think vampires are really like.

    I forgot to say last time Congrats on your latest release.


  12. Welcome and thank you, Margie and Yolanda! Margie, I especially love the moon on the cover. It’s sooooo Halloween! 🙂
    Y–great to see you here, too! I appreciate it. 😉

    Phoebe, I agree that there’s so much to our world that we don’t know about. Vampire tales have been around for a long, long time, so it’s interesting to speculate about how they originated. And I’m also with you about loving the different interpretations of vampires!


  13. Crystal,
    I work at a public library and I see a lot of books come through as part of our paperback swap, but I didn’t realize that any Blaze books were paranormal. I’ll have to look closer at them from now on. Are there any others that are paranormal?
    I am a hardcore paranormal fan but love erotica and the Nocturne books are great. I just wish that more were being published than about two monthly.

    Deidre
    deidre_durance@hotmail.com


  14. Congrats, Crystal on your latest release!

    I love vampire novels and I’m always on the lookout for new ones to read.

    Love the cover for “Good to the Last Bite”.


  15. I love reading all kinds of paranormals, vamps included. Great to see Blaze expanding into them along with historicals, Crystal.


  16. Congratulations on your latest release, Crystal! I love vampire novels. Your books sound great! I can’t wait to read them!


  17. Hey, Deidre! How are you doing?
    There are some paranormal Blazes here and there–Kelly St. John has some, and I think Hope Tarr, too! 😉

    Terri and Deborah, thank you!
    Terri, I’m looking forward to the historicals, as well. Blaze is trying different types of stories, and that makes it such an exciting line. 🙂

    We’ll be back with a winner announcement….

    Best to you all,
    Crystal


  18. Ooops–guys, I’m so sorry, but for some reason, all the comments haven’t been coming up on my computer. Going over all of them this morning, I see that there were some of you I didn’t get to chat with!

    Lou–what a cool story about your connection to Dracula! That might make a cool book. 🙂

    Michele–welcome here from the land of Facebook! It really is helpful to know where everyone comes from. eHarlequin is trying so many great things.

    Karen–I just found out about the release of some of my other books in e-format. I’ve been waiting for that news!

    DeeDee–Ooo, KINDRED: THE EMBRACED. Wasn’t that on for about three episodes and then it disappeared? I remember really liking it….

    Pam, I mistakenly typed “Terri” for your comment about historicals. So sorry! Forgive my dorkiness. 🙂

    I hope I didn’t miss anyone else. If so, please accept my apologies.


  19. Hi Deirdre,

    Yes, there have been a few more paranormal Blazes — I’m going to link to all the eBooks since they might be hard to find in print.

    1) Kimberly Raye’s Love at First Bite series about cowboy vampires: http://ebooks.eharlequin.com/3D1E7FE6-A851-489C-8B91-188B26631A90/10/126/en/SearchResults.htm?SearchID=11340898

    2) “Stripped” by Julie Elizabeth Leto had a witch heroine: http://ebooks.eharlequin.com/3D1E7FE6-A851-489C-8B91-188B26631A90/10/126/en/ContentDetails.htm?ID=2AF4A395-9425-49F6-9618-6B14906E0FC1

    3) Seems that “Call Me Wicked” does too: http://ebooks.eharlequin.com/3D1E7FE6-A851-489C-8B91-188B26631A90/10/126/en/ContentDetails.htm?ID=C4AC8845-257A-43DD-A040-918B3763843F

    4) Hope Tarr wrote about a sexy ghost in “The Haunting”: http://ebooks.eharlequin.com/3D1E7FE6-A851-489C-8B91-188B26631A90/10/126/en/ContentDetails.htm?ID=1954693D-6F7D-4E1D-A25A-FEA86F3619B9

    5) And as already blogged about, so Kelley St. John has a whole series on them!: http://ebooks.eharlequin.com/3D1E7FE6-A851-489C-8B91-188B26631A90/10/126/en/SearchResults.htm?SearchID=11341025

    6) Samantha Hunter had a superpowered heroine who lost her powers: http://ebooks.eharlequin.com/3D1E7FE6-A851-489C-8B91-188B26631A90/10/126/en/ContentDetails.htm?ID=9908D6F5-CA9E-4A3A-8DB8-C62C637E954D

    That’s just what I found browsing the eBook Store — I’m sure there are more! And if you like erotica, Spice Briefs (our erotic ebook short line) has also had a few paranormal-themed stories, such as “Medusa’s Folly” (yep, about the goddess) and “Dark Moon Gathering” (a werewolf story): http://ebooks.eharlequin.com/3D1E7FE6-A851-489C-8B91-188B26631A90/10/126/en/SearchResultsImprint.htm?SearchID=11341048&SortBy=date

    Hope that helps you find a few more stories you’ll love! 🙂
    ~Amy, Harlequin Digital


  20. Thanks to everyone who commented for a chance to win! The contest is now closed, and the winner will be announced soon.
    ~Amy



Comments are closed.

