h1

A Sexy Sea-Inspired Short from Nancy Holder

August 18, 2008

Author Nancy Holder continues to fill us in on the inspiration behind her series The Gifted. This time, Nancy tells us about her new Nocturne Bite, Son of the Sea

by Nancy Holder, author of Son of the Sea

I love writing about my Gifted families so much that I jumped at the chance to write a Nocturne Bite, titled Son of the Sea. Erik, Guardian of the North Sea and a merman, must protect a beautiful Greek-American named Nia from death as they race to seize the magical Jar of Naxos. Erik has cut himself off from all loving contact, after his human fiancée drowned herself a hundred years before.

As the daughter of a Navy doctor, I have lived near the sea almost all of my life. While working on Son of the Sea, I remembered the hours I spent pretending to be a mermaid in my parents’ black-bottom pool here in San Diego. I still remember the lull of the waves and the cries of the seagulls during my year on a houseboat in San Diego Bay.

I created a play list of sea sounds and songs to listen to while I wrote Son of the Sea. I included two versions of Smetana’s theme from Die Moldau, When I saw the cover image for Son of the Sea at Comic-con, I immediately heard that piece, and returned to Erik’s domain beneath the cold, tumultuous North Sea. I can’t wait to go back there again.

Son of the Shadows and Son of the Sea are my first two stories for Nocturne. I hope to write many, many more…and to chat about them at Comicon next year.

2 comments

  1. The cover looks gorgeous! I have to admit I never read a merman story. Will have to check this one out.


  2. i havnt tried the bites yet

    love the noctrune line



Comments are closed.

