h1

Author Bertrice Small’s Wild and Sexy Faeries

May 5, 2008

Paranormal romance meets fantasy when author Bertrice Small shares her thoughts on creating the world of Hetar…

By Bertrice Small, author of The Sorceress of Belmair

Several years ago my agent said to me, “Do you think you could write something paranormal? I suspect it will be the next hot trend.” I told him I wasn’t into wolves or vampires. What did he think of a faerie tale?

I’ve made my reputation writing good historical romance novels with accurate history, a good story, and characters that readers seem to like. It wasn’t that I was getting bored, but I really was ready for a challenge. And so The World of Hetar came into being. Hetar, as many of my readers have figured out is an anagram for earth. But whose earth? And earth in a far distant past? Or an equally distant future? Even I can’t tell you the answer to that.

I have had, am having a great deal of fun creating this world, and the characters who people it. LARA, the first book in the series, began it all. It is the story of a young woman’s adventures as she pursues her destiny. Lara is the daughter of a mortal man, and a faerie woman. In Book II, A DISTANT TOMORROW, Lara continues on her mystical path, now widowed, and the mother of two children. She remarries the ruler of Terah, and finds herself involved in the politics of Hetar.

With Book III, THE TWILIGHT LORD, Lara suddenly finds herself unable to use her faerie powers, and at the mercy of a powerful lord who rules the dark side. Of course she triumphs. And now we come to Book IV, THE SORCERESS OF BELMAIR in which Lara’s eldest son, Dillon, now grown and a great sorcerer, is called to Belmair, a distant world from Hetar. Belmair’s great dragon, Nidhug, has chosen Dillon to be Belmair’s new ruler, and the dying king’s daughter, a sorceress named Cinnia, will be his wife.

The characters who people these books are such fun to write. Ilona, the queen of the Forest Faeries who is Lara’s mother. The great Shadow Lord, Prince Kaliq, a sexy, mysterious man who is Lara’s mentor. Lara’s talking horse, Dasras, her singing sword, Andraste and the staff she carries with an elderly spirit named Verica. There is a proper villian in Gaius Prospero, a great Hetarian merchant lord, and his ambitious wife, Vilia. Not to forget his duplicitious secretary, Jonah. Lara’s husbands, Vartan, the great chief of the Outlands, and Magnus Hauk, the Dominus of Terah. Lara’s father, John Swiftsword. But right now I would have to say my favorite is Nidhug, the great dragon of Belmair who has a taste for gourmet meals, and great sex with her lover, Lara’s half-brother, the faerie prince, Cirillo.

If you like wild and sexy faerie tales you are really going to enjoy the books in The World of Hetar. I am having one helluva time writing them. And as I begin Book V it would appear the ride isn’t over yet.

-Bertrice

2 comments

  1. why can i not purchase the sorceress of belmair. I have fallen i love with this series but can not continue it because i cant find or do not have the money to spend 30-40 dollars for the forth book. Can you tell me why it is sold out and when there will be more printed… thank you Cindy Durbin


  2. Hi Cindy,

    The Sorceress of Belmair is probably out of print since the book is now about a year old, and I don’t believe there are any plans to reprint. You may have luck finding it online (Canada’s Indigo.ca has some copies in stock) or you can buy it in ebook format: http://www.ebooks.eharlequin.com/033D8885-D6DB-4887-9E72-AF6319D0AA70/10/126/en/ContentDetails.htm?ID=3553C5C4-251F-4A8A-9128-42E333E65A42
    ~Amy



Comments are closed.

