h1

Rhyannon Byrd’s Sexy Half-Human Werewolf Heroes

March 13, 2008

Werewolves can have a soft side, too.
by Rhyannon Byrd

There’s no question that alpha males are my favorite kind of heroes, whether I’m writing a romance or reading one. And while I love the dark, rugged, seductive intensity of this compelling brand of hero, what really makes an alpha grab my imagination, as well as my heart, is when there’s an aspect of his character that’s slightly damaged, even a little bit broken.

In fact, it’s his vulnerabilities that often reveal an alpha’s softer side, and for me, that’s one of the things that makes them so delicious. While their aggressive, mouthwatering sexuality can drive us wild, it’s the unexpected, softer facets of these heroes that can truly reach in and grab a reader’s heart. And when you make that alpha a werewolf, then it’s even better. 😉

In my new Bloodrunners series from Silhouette Nocturne, the heroes are intense alphas, who just so happen to be half-human, half-werewolf. As an author, I enjoy the freedom and creativity that comes with writing paranormal characters–especially werewolves, who allow us to explore the darker realms of physical craving, while tempering that powerful, visceral hunger with the hero’s need to cherish and protect his woman. I’m fascinated by the combination of their primal animal hungers and human restraint–that seductive blend of the predatory hunter and devoted protector. And although the heroes in this series are often hard and dark and impossibly arrogant, they each possess a softer, more emotional side that only the heroine is allowed to witness.

Some of my favorite scenes from the Bloodrunner books are the ones in which these softer qualities are revealed to the heroine, allowing her to see that this powerful, confident warrior is so much more than the larger-than-life, untouchable persona he projects to the world. In Last Wolf Standing, it’s Mason’s deep-rooted fear of loss that finally reveals the more emotional elements of his character to Torrance, the woman destined to be his life-mate. With Jeremy, in Last Wolf Hunting, it’s his damaged heart and wounded pride.

But perhaps the most poignant of these three alphas is Brody, in Last Wolf Watching (available in May from Silhouette Nocturne), who bears physical scars, as well as emotional ones. Brody is a dark, intense, guarded hero, and yet, it’s the more vulnerable aspects of his character that make him so special. After everything that he’s suffered, he truly deserves a woman like Michaela, who sees past his scars and bitterness, to the amazing man (…or werewolf) that he truly is.

I hope you’ll enjoy these dark, sexy and often tender alphas as much as I enjoyed writing them, and look forward to the next batch of Bloodrunners coming in 2009!!

All the best,
Rhy

7 comments

  1. Hi, Rhyannon. I quite enjoyed Last Wolf Standing, and I’m looking forward to the next two.


  2. I just finished reading Mason’s story and have pre-ordered the next two.

    The story was great and can hardly wait to see what happens next. Keep up the great writing!


  3. Thanks, Devon! It’s wonderful to hear that you’re looking forward to the next two! I hope you’ll enjoy them! 🙂

    All the best,
    Rhy


  4. Thanks, Tammy! I’m so glad you enjoyed Last Wolf Standing! That’s wonderful news. 🙂

    Hope you’ll enjoy Jeremy’s story, too, as well as Brody’s!

    All the best,
    Rhy


  5. Sounds like an awesome series! Can’t wait to read the first book! 😀


  6. I loved the first 2 of Rhyannon’s Bloodrunner books!! I can’t wait for Michaela’s and Brody’s to come out in May. If you like werewolves/shifter character books, then you should also try Rhyannon’s A Bite of Magick published by Ellora’s Cave. The Alpha character Kieran is one fine juicy man I wouldn’t mind having sink his fangs in me. And Bronte, the female lead, is full of spunk. It’s a great book, lots of heat and suspense. I think you’d really like it.

    LeAnne


  7. I love books with werewolves, and I also enjoy books with romantic aspects…..which means I’ll have to go pick up these books come payday.

    Although, I do have one wish, and that is that someday there will be a werewolf romance novel that involves not an Alpha, but perhaps an Omega. Strong and masculine Alpha’s are all well and good, but I just can’t seem to like them very much, no matter what sort of flaws they have that show their sensitive side. I suppose the fact that were I a werewolf, I’d most likely be an Omega plays a huge part in my desire for a werewolf novel where the hero is an Omega. At the very least having a werewolf hero that is just part of the pack would be just as interesting.



Comments are closed.

