h1

Are Vampires Dead or Just Mainstream?

May 26, 2008

By Jenny B, digital content manager

From Smart Bitches and Dear Author, another salvo in the debate about whether the paranormal romance reading community is ready to move on from reading about vampires.  This time, a different take in that vampires are not “over”, just moved into the mainstream.

It’s an interesting point, but for me personally, I will never tire of reading about vampires.  I love a dark, brooding vampire hero, and the vampire heroines I’ve read tend to be of the kick-butt, take-charge variety, which I also like in heroines generally.  If they’ve gone mainstream, so much the better — that just means more books for me to sink my teeth into!  (Sorry, I never could resist a bad pun!)

What do you think? Are vampires dead? Have they become mainstream? Are you finished with them?

2 comments

  1. I also still love reading about Vampire hero’s and heroine’s as well as other paranormal species. I think it’s good news if the paranormal and urban fantasy genres are moving into the mainstream category. It’s about time! :)


  2. I have always love reading about Vampires. I feel it’s funny how Vampires have become so mainstream now. That everyone and the mother is writing about vamps. Even if the cycle turns away from them to some other hot property, vampires will always be number one in my book.



Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

